Writing for Dallas Morning News

I’ve been reviewing movies for a little over seven months now, initially not knowing where it would lead me. So far it’s given me countless opportunities with RELEVANT Magazine including articles for the print mag, an internship with Pegasus News, some neat assignments with Christianity Today and, now, a huge opportunity with Dallas Morning News.

DMN is currently looking for a freelance film critic, so the Movies Editor there is “trying out” a few people from the area. For some reason, I was chosen to be one of those people. Yesterday I finished and turned in a review of a French film called The Father of My Children, which will be featured this Friday in the publication. I’ll link to it tomorrow morning.

I’m not saying any of this to boast. In fact, I hope my little story encourages people who have ambitions to do something but feel intimidated. I wanted to write movie reviews, so I started writing movie reviews. Obviously, you have to be realistic with yourself in some sense; however, I believe the God of the universe cares about these sort of things. You just have to get out there and do what you want to do.

That probably sounds cliche, and I can’t make any promises that you will become a celebrity. I can, however, say that I haven’t been able to do what I’ve done by my own merit. And surely none of it was coincidence.

Leave a Reply

