Thank God for Sufjan

Less than two weeks ago, Sufjan Stevens pulled a Radiohead and, out of nowhere, released a new EP titled All Delighted People. On my way to work this morning, I listened to it for the first time. And I must say, I’m quite impressed. The title track (original version), which is nearly 12 minutes long, is by far my favorite of the record–as of right now at least. It’s epic, and reminds me of songs from Illinois and his more recent The BQE. So, I guess you could say it’s a mix between the two albums; however, there’s definitely some Enjoy Your Rabbit in it, too.

While I didn’t enjoy The BQE as well as other stuff, I’m convinced that Sufjan is one of the most talented singer-songwriters currently making music. And alongside David Bazan, who basically “broke up” with God last year via his Curse Your Branches record, he is unquestionably the best artist out there connecting the dots between sacred and secular through music.

Which excites me, because last week Sufjan announced he is releasing a full-length studio album, The Age of Adz, on October 12th. Obviously, it’s not a concept album about one of the states, and that’s unfortunate. But at least it’s a standard record. He hasn’t released one of those since 2005.

Read The Age of Adz press release,  here, at Asthmatic Kitty Records.

Leave a Reply

